1 Year of Blogging

Hey everyone!

Tomorrow is the official one year anniversary of my first blog. During this past year I’ve had thousands of visitors from nearly 20 countries on 6 continents visit this page. Thank y’all so much!

So this past week was a very good and busy week. On Tuesday I took a trip to Atlanta to hear Mara Keising from the National Center for Transgender Equality speak. She was absolutely amazing, and it was so good to be surrounded by trans people. I even got to meet Vandy Beth Glenn from the famous Glenn v. Brumby case. NTCE will be one of the places that I apply for a summer internship at so hopefully a little face time will help.

I had the best day that I’ve had in a long time yesterday. I went up to Young Harris and had lunch with a mentor of mine. He’s an attorney who, along with his attorney/ college president wife, really encouraged me to go to law school. I haven’t talked to him a whole lot since coming out, but he has been supportive since day one. It was really good to catch up with him.

After lunch, I went to the wedding of one of my college golf teammates. I was really nervous about being there. I hadn’t had much, if any, contact with them since coming out. They were absolutely great. Despite the occasional trip up/omission of pronouns, I couldn’t have asked for more. It was just like old times. I even had the pleasure of dancing with one of my teammates. That moment was the happiest that I’ve been in a long time. I felt so valid in my manhood. Maybe that’s not the right way to describe it, but there was just something about dancing with a beautiful girl that made me feel really good about being a man.

I hope to do better about keeping in contact with my YHC family, especially my golf teammates. They are some truly amazing people.

All the best,

Harris

 

One thought on “1 Year of Blogging

Leave a Reply

