Week 19 on T

Hey everyone!

Well last week I was a day late, and this week I’m two days late. I should get my act back together now that school is starting next week… maybe haha

Wow, last week was a jam-packed week. I spent 6 days in Washington D.C. with some friends (thanks Lito & J.S.!) for the Transgender Legal Institute and for the LGBT Bar Association’s Lavender Law conference. I learned so much about legal arguments being used to advance LGBTQ protections and other legal and legislative issues affecting the LGBTQ community. I also got to meet so many amazing leaders in the movement for trans equality. It really felt like meeting family for the first time. I was surrounded by so many trans men who extended their love, support, and legal expertise to me. One of my favorite moments of the week was having a drink with Kylar Broadus. He was the first trans person to testify in front of the Senate, where he spoke in favor of the Employment Non-Discrimination Act. His story is truly inspiring, and I am very lucky to know him.

On my last day in D.C. I got to do some sightseeing. I walked the National Mall and went to the Lincoln Memorial, went past the WWII Memorial, went to the Smithsonian American History Museum, went to the Holocaust Museum, went to the Capitol, went to the SCOTUS building, and went to the National Archives. Needless to say, my feet hurt like hell after all that walking! I was disappointed that the transgender flag wasn’t on display at the American History Museum and the African American Museum wasn’t open yet. I was looking forward to both. I guess that just means that I’ll need to go back at some point.

Today, I spent the day shadowing an attorney friend who is an assistant general counsel for a healthcare company. I enjoyed spending the day learning more about what he does on a daily basis. Plus, it’s always fun to hang out with another trans guy. I’m going to miss all my trans friends that I made/got to hang out with this summer. I hope that I’ll have some time to develop and continue those relationships. 2L year starts next week, so I’ll just have to see.

All the best,

Harris

Leave a Reply

