Week 18 on T

Hey everyone!

Well at least I’m only a day late and not a week late on this post… I forgot what day it was yesterday so I didn’t do my normal Sunday post.

Anyway, this past week certainly has been an eventful one. I had my last week of my internship at Atlanta Legal Aid Society. It was some of the most stressful, challenging, fun, and rewarding work I’ve ever done. I’m really proud to say that I was able to start a project where my unit at ALAS will meet with an HIV/AIDS clinic’s transgender patients once a month to give free legal help. I worked on this project all summer, in addition to “regular” legal intern work, so I’m really glad that I was able to complete the groundwork for a successful project. I’m grateful for the fellowships that financially allowed me to do this work over the summer and the people of my unit that always brought a smile to my face.

Yesterday I moved my stuff back to Athens for the fall. I didn’t do a whole lot of unpacking though. I’m already back in Atlanta because I’m flying to D.C. tomorrow for the national LGBT Bar Association’s annual conference thanks to the generosity of UGA Law. I’m actually going to two separate transgender legal conferences. One is part of the Bar Association’s conference, and the other is one that a trans lawyer friend told me about. Needless to say, I’m really excited about my first trip to D.C.

This past week we also gained our first woman to be nominated for president of a major political party. I know that as a trans man, I have a lot to be proud of when I think about the last two Democratic nominees for president. Barack Obama taught me that you don’t have to be a certain kind of man to be the President, and Hillary Clinton’s nomination means that you don’t have to be a certain gender to have a chance at the presidency. In her acceptance speech, Hillary said, “When any barrier falls in America, for anyone, it clears the way for everyone.” Whether or not you plan on voting for her (I hope you do), you should be able to appreciate the value of Hillary’s crack in the glass ceiling, a crack that’s not just for her or for the women who are bound to follow in her footsteps but for us all.

All the best,

Harris

Leave a Reply

